City slicker wannabe


I live in the middle of the country. And yeah, it’s quiet and stuff, but there’s not a great lot to do.

Today, since it was a bank holiday and everything, dad decided to take us all to Belfast for the day.
In Belfast theres a huge centre called The Odyssey, (think London’s O2 on a much smaller scale) and
inside there’s clubs, pubs cafes restaurants cinemas The Arena (that also plays host to Ice Hockey champions The Belfast Giants FYI) and W5.
W5 is a kind of science experimental museum thingy, that explains science in a way that’s fun and practical for children, using exhibits and computers and the like. (it has a musical staircase- it sounds EPIC when there’s like, 30 people walking up and down at once).
After we were done there, we headed to Victoria Square Shopping centre ( a massive shopping centre in the middle of the city with Northern Irelands only House of Fraser)- but on our way out, father dearest decide it would be a good time to forget where the car was parked… Oh such fun!!!
After looking at the city as we drove through it, I couldn’t help but marvel at how busy and bustling it was. Compared to my pretty crappy hometown, it was such a contrast. I love cities, I don’t know why, I just love finding out new things and with cities you constantly have your finger on the pulse. So at that moment, looking up at the horrendous architecture that is Belfast City Hospital, I promised myself I’d live in a city someday.
I’ve only been to London once, but I was eight years old, it was Easter and snowing with the heating broken in our hotel room- it’s looks like an awesome place to go too, landmarks, history. And not forgetting very attractive accents.
But the ultimatum is New York, it’s always always ALWAYS been somewhere I’ve wanted to go for as long as I can remember. The lights, the smoke, yellow cabs, Broadway. It’s just dazzling.

“you can take the girl out of the country, but you can’t take the country out of the girl”????
No, my fine fellow, you’re incorrect, you have no idea how easily country is extracted from my being.

As per usual, any opinions are welcome below. Or if you’d like any more info on where I come from or what I did (I would have no idea why) I’d happily tell you more.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

